The Omicron Wave Was Deadlier Than Delta for Older People

The dreaded virus keeps morphing and just won’t quit.

Diana Leotta
3 min readJun 4, 2022
Photo by Mufid Majnun on Unsplash

The above title grabbed my attention in The New York Times. I had to find out what was going on.

Alpha, Beta, Delta, and Omicron — are all variants of the Covid-19 virus. What could be next?

SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, is constantly changing. New variants are an expected part of the virus's evolution, according to Yalemedicine.org. They add that "monitoring each one that surfaces is essential in ensuring the U.S. and globally are prepared."

Omicron is more transmissible than Delta was. However, Omicron is less severe. Yet, more data is needed to assess this variant's potential to cause severe illness, hospitalization, and death.

I don’t usually write about current happenings, yet Covid has been the exception. I first wrote about it in my article; A ‘Very, Very Contagious’ Coronavirus Subvariant Is Causing Cases to Rise Again, published on Medium on May 6, 2022.

Covid and me

I had Covid in early May, despite having two Pfizer vaccines and one booster. The advice is that we all should get the second booster.

--

--

Diana Leotta

Retired from work, not from life. Musings on Life, Living and Learning. Always curious. Strong55plus@blogspot.com.